Refinement of New Year’s Plan

1. Health

  • Exercise – Hiking/Adventure

I had previously only committed to 1 hour or 1 mile twice a month. But, today, it dawned on me that Scotland would possibly require rambling and hiking and that I am not able to do much of that without difficulty. This past year, I did about 50% of my hikes as 2-3 mile hikes and one urban hike of 5.5 miles. But all the rest were between 1-2 miles. That won’t get me far in Scotland. So…I am going to work on doing 52 hikes this year with increasing distances. Even if I only get up to 12 miles by December, it will be better than 1 mile. So I will commit to 4 hikes a month with each month adding a mile to the total. This will be part of my plan to travel to Scotland.

So now to plan a hike for this week. I will go Thursday, preferably, but Friday and Saturday should be good days also. I think I will plan for a first hike this year on the Coker Springs Trail in Aiken, SC. It is a 1.3 mile out and back trail that is considered easy. I have done it before, and remember it as a bit hilly, sandy, but clearly marked.

2. Other things

Today I spent time writing a report for FB on the cheeses we tried at the cheese tasting party on Sunday ~ New Year’s Day. One of my friends had taken a picture for me of the bits of each cheese left for snacking after each tasting. I used that pic to describe the various cheeses and our collective thoughts about each. This fits in with my plan to continue to write as does the fact that I am making a new post for this blog.

Tomorrow I will sign up for an elder extension class on genealogy. It is a four week, once a week, one hour each time course. I hope it will help me kick-start or refine the little that I have done already. In addition, there are other courses that might be of interest to me. The open house and sign up is tomorrow.

Leave a comment