Garden plans

I prepped my garden several months ago by adding new garden soil and manure to each plot.

Since my compost pile is not yet ready (still composting), it now takes up the garden plot where the sprinkler is located. That leaves 3 plots for planting.

Each plot is 50″ deep and 93″ wide. In one, the artichokes that Ed planted are growing.  Maybe they can share space with the brussel sprouts.

Veggies I am considering: (1) returning favorites – tomatoes, peppers, potatoes, squash, and beans; (2) new ones – brussel sprouts, corn and melon. I have not had a lot of success with squash due to mildew and boring insects. Hopefully, I can find a variety that will work better in my soil. Believe it or not, I have heard of a container variety of corn that I might try! And some of my returning favorites may also be put in containers…like the peppers and tomatoes. The beans have moved to a new spot…or will once I string the pole.

I also want to plant flowers – particularly marigolds – among the vegetables as I have heard they deter some insects.

At this time, I am poring over the seed catalogs and planning. I am having so much fun looking forward to planting.

Leave a comment